Argentina fixtures
Photo: The Sportsrush

The FIFA World Cup is set to return in 2022 in Qatar. The countdown has begun as just over 150 days to kick off the biggest football tournament on the planet.

The groups are already drawn, venues are fixed, and fixtures and schedules are set for the FIFA World Cup 2022. Qatar’s 22nd Football World Cup will be held, and the journey to lift the dream title will begin on Monday, 21 November 2022. We will find the FIFA World Cup 2022 Champions by Sunday night, 18 December 2022.

Lionel Messi will lead Argentina in the FIFA World Cup 2022 to have one last shot at glory as one of the greatest players. Here we will check out Argentina’s  World Cup Fixtures 2022, match schedule, and group stage matches venues. Then, we will try to figure out their fixtures and schedules for the Round of 16, Quarter-Final, Semi-Final, and Final, should they go all the way.

Argentina’s World Cup 2022 Fixtures and Match Schedule

Lionel Messi and co. have booked their tickets to Qatar by finishing 2nd in the table in the CONMEBOL qualifiers without suffering a single defeat. According to FIFA Ranking, the No. 4 team in the World 2 times World Cup Champions, Argentina will hope to grab their 3rd in Qatar. The Albicelestes are drawn in Group C and Saudi Arabia, Mexico, and Poland.

Argentina’s World Cup 2022 Group

Group C
Argentina
Saudi Arabia
Mexico
Poland

The top two teams will qualify for Round 16 from each group – group winners and runners-up. Every team will play 3 matches in the Group Stage, 1 match with each opponent. A win brings 3 points, a draw 1, and no points for a defeat.

Argentina’s World Cup Fixtures: Match Schedule, Kickoff Time, and Venue

Argentina will play their first match against Saudi Arabia. Their second match in the group stage against Mexico would be most crucial in which they would hope to secure a spot in the next round. They will play Poland in the final group-stage match.

[All times are in GMT so that you can convert it easily into your local time]

Match Date Kickoff Time Venue
Argentina vs. Saudi Arabia Tuesday, 22 November 2022 10:00 am GMT Lusail
Argentina vs. Mexico Saturday, 26 November 2022 7:00 pm GMT Lusail
Argentina vs. Poland Wednesday, 30 November 2022 7:00 pm GMT Stadium 974

If Argentina finishes Group Stage as the group winners (C1), they will face Group D’s runners-up (D2) in the Round of 16. Denmark should finish as D2 according to our pick.

If Argentina finishes Group Stage as the group runners-up (C2), they will face the winners (D1) of Group D. The defending World Champions France should finish as D1 according to our pick.

[Group D: France, Denmark, Tunisia, Peru/Australia/UAE]

Potential Round of 16 Fixture and Schedule:

Fixture Date Kickoff Time Venue
C1 (Argentina) vs D2 Saturday, 3 December 2022 7:00 pm GMT Ahmed Bin Ali Stadium
C2 (Argentina) vs D1 Sunday, 4 December 2022 3:00 pm GMT Al Thumama Stadium

If Argentina finishes Group Stage as the winners (C1), they will play their Round of 16 matches on Saturday, 3 December 2022, at 7:00 pm GMT, which is 3:00 pm ET, 8:00 pm BST, and 10:00 pm local time in Qatar. It will be held in the Ahmed Bin Ali Stadium.

If Argentina finishes Group Stage as the runners-up (C2), they will play their Round of 16 matches on Sunday, 4 December 2022, at 3:00 pm GMT, 11:00 am ET, 4:00 pm BST, and 6:00 pm local time in Qatar. It will be held at Al Thumama Stadium.

Potential Quarter-Final Fixture and Schedule:

If Argentina wins their round-of-16 match and goes through to the quarter-finals, their opponent will be the A1 vs. B2 match winners or the A2 vs. B1 match. Our picks are Netherlands and England for these two matches.

[Group A: Qatar, Ecuador, Senegal, Netherlands]

[Group B: England, Iran, USA, Wales/Scotland/Ukraine]

Fixture Date Kickoff Time Venue
Argentina vs (A1 vs B2) Winners Friday, 9 December 2022 7:00 pm GMT Lusail Stadium
Argentina vs (A2 vs B1) Winners Saturday, 10 December 2022 7:00 pm GMT Al Bayt Stadium

If Argentina finishes Group Stage as the winners (C1) and goes through to the quarter-finals, they will play their quarter-final match on Friday, 9 December 2022, at 7:00 pm GMT, which is 3:00 pm ET, 8:00 pm BST, and 10:00 pm local time in Qatar. It will be held in the Lusail Stadium.

If Argentina finishes Group Stage as the runners-up (C2) and goes through to the quarter-finals, they will play their quarter-final match on Saturday, 10 December 2022, at 7:00 pm GMT, which is 3:00 pm ET, 8:00 pm BST, and 10:00 pm local time in Qatar. It will be held at Al Bayt Stadium.

Potential Semi-Final Fixture and Schedule:

Argentina’s World Cup bracket involves Groups A, B, C, and D till the quarter-finals. So, they cannot face any team from Groups E, F, G, and H until the Semi-Finals.

Argentina’s Semi-Final opponent can be any team from Groups E, F, G, and H, including Spain, Germany, Belgium, Brazil, or Portugal.

Let’s check out the date, time, and venue for the semi-finals of the FIFA World Cup 2022.

Fixture Date Kickoff Time Venue
Semi-Final 1 Tuesday, 13 December 2022 7:00 pm GMT Lusail Stadium
Semi-Final 2 Wednesday, 14 December 2022 7:00 pm GMT Al Bayt Stadium
  • Argentina will play semi-final 1 if they finish Group C as the winners (C1) and go to the semi-finals.
  • Argentina will play semi-final 2 if they finish Group C as the runners-up (C2) and go to the semi-finals.

When and Where will be the FIFA World Cup 2022 Final?

The FIFA World Cup 2022 Final will be held at the Lusail Stadium, Al Daayen City, Qatar.

The Final match will go underway on Sunday, 18 December 2022, at 3:00 pm GMT, 11:00 am ET, 4:00 pm BST, and 6:00 pm local time in Qatar.

Related:

Golam Muktadir, chief editor at Surprise Sports (Leading Sports News Website). He is sharing his World Cup Football thoughts, trending news, and real-time Qatar World Cup updates.

LEAVE A REPLY

Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here