FIFA World Cup 2022 Trophy

With the FIFA World Cup 2022 is only over four months away, the vibe of the biggest football tournament on the planet is around us. The 22nd World Cup will begin its journey on November 21 this year in Qatar. We have meanwhile, all the 8 groups and 32 teams ready to roll for the FIFA World Cup 2022 glory.

As we are closing towards the FIFA World Cup tournament, let’s take a good look at the FIFA World Cup Trophy. Do you know what happens to the original trophy after the Champions win it?

The FIFA World Cup Trophy is made of solid gold. Its weight is 6.142 kg. Its iconic design is that of two human figures holding the globe aloft, a symobol of unity and sportmanship among the World’s people. This Trophy design dates back to 1974.

The FIFA World Cup trophy is awarded to the winners of the FIFA World Cup but it remains in the permanent possession of FIFA. The trophy cannot be won outright. The Champions retain the original FIFA World Cup trophy temporarily. After that, they are awarded the tournament’s edition trophy permanently. The tournament’s edition is a gold-plated trophy engraved with the winners, year, and the host country.

Who has won the most World Cups?

Brazil has won the most World Cups. They have won the tournament 5 times – 1958, 1962, 1970, 1994, and 2002.

When was the first world cup held?

The first World Cup was held in 1930 with Uruguay winning the tournament.

Who won the last World Cup?

France won the last World Cup in 2018 in Russia. They beat Croatia by 4-2 goal in the Final.

Golam Muktadir is a passionate sports fan and a dedicated movie buff. He has been writing about both topics for over a decade and has a wealth of knowledge and experience to share with his readers. Muktadir has a degree in journalism and has written for several well-known publications, including Surprise Sports and Surprise Movies.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here