2026 World Cup

The FIFA World Cup will once again break records in 2026. After a series of controversial options, its venue is finally set and coming to North America. It’ll be hosted by not one or two but three host countries!

FIFA World Cup 2026, also called FIFA World Cup 26, will be hosted by the United States, Mexico, and Canada. The three nations’ joint bid to host the tournament won against Morocco’s bid in a 2018 vote.

Like the 2022 World Cup’s debut in the Middle East and the first-ever winter month versions, the 2026 incarnation has also set a series of historical firsts. Specifically, being jointly staged by three nations is a first in FIFA’s history.

FIFA World Cup 26: Locations & Stadiums

The FIFA World Cup 26 will take place across 16 cities in North America. This includes 11 American host cities, three in Mexico and two in Canada. The trio will divide games between them with specific group-stage tournaments based in one country to reduce travel.

Overall, there are also 16 stadiums to be used, as announced by FIFA last June 2022. Check them out here:

In the United States of America (11 cities):

  • Mercedes-Benz Stadium in Atlanta (capacity: 75,000)
  • Gillette Stadium in Boston (capacity: 70,000)
  • AT&T Stadium in Dallas (capacity: 92,967)
  • NRG Stadium in Houston (capacity: 72,220)
  • Arrowhead Stadium in Kansas City (capacity: 76,640)
  • SoFi Stadium in Los Angeles (capacity: 70,000)
  • Hard Rock Stadium in Miami (capacity 67,518)
  • MetLife Stadium in New York/New Jersey (capacity: 87,157)
  • Lincoln Financial Field in Philadelphia (capacity: 69,328)
  • Levi’s Stadium in San Francisco/Bay Area (capacity: 70,909)
  • Lumen Field in Seattle (capacity: 69,000)

In Mexico (3 cities):

  • Estadio Akron in Guadalajara (capacity: 48,071)
  • Estadio Azteca in Mexico City (capacity: 87,523)
  • Estadio BBVA in Monterrey (capacity: 53,460)

In Canada (2 cities):

  • BMO Field in Toronto (capacity: 45,500)
  • BC Place in Vancouver (capacity: 54,500)

According to one insider, FIFA has enforced “controlled areas” adjacent to these stadiums for commercial activities. They must be subject to strict traffic restrictions to ensure controlled and regulated circulation and access.

This may require a lot of funds on the end of the host city, but this is advisable for everyone’s safety.

Moreover, this will be the first time for Canada to host, particularly for the men’s tournament. However, it’ll be the second time for America (the first was in World Cup 1994) and the third for Mexico (the first was in World Cup 1970, while the second was in 1986).

FIFA World Cup 26: Tentative Date

FIFA World Cup 26 will take place from a yet-to-be-determined date in June to July 19, 2026. However, it’ll likely have an extended format because of the increase in qualifying teams to 48 nations.

This decision was initially met with criticism, primarily from the Union of European Football Associations (UEFA) nations. Nonetheless, the Fédération Internationale de Football Association (FIFA) upheld this on all North American tournament’s aspects.

Any nation or national Football Association (FA) can bid for the 2030 World Cup in its current rules. However, it’ll only happen if they haven’t previously hosted the tournament twice. With this, the nations or FAs likely to take up the mantle will be Europe and Latin America.

FIFA World Cup 26: How to Bet?

First things first, you need to figure out whether your country legalized online betting or not. Some countries restrict the scope of their Internet access, which includes gambling platforms.

Other people with restricted Internet access can use a VPN or APN to access some sites, but the good chance isn’t that big. You can give it a try, though. On the contrary, if your country allows it, you’re good to go.

Many online betting platforms will offer the World Cup 26 and different markets, such as in-play betting, first goalscorer, outright win, etc.

Other sportsbooks may also offer many options, plus they’ve already been handling odds on the futures or outright winners of the said tournament.

After you’ve figured out whether you can bet, sign up for at least one betting account. Make sure to do that before placing wagers on the World Cup 26.

Specifically, four awards will be given after the tournament: The Golden Ball, The Golden Boot, The FIFA Fair Play Trophy, and The MVP of the Final Match Trophy.

The moment the tournament begins, depending on whatever you like, you’ll either more or less likely to have chances to back different group stage runners-up or winners, top-scoring Golden Boot winner market, or individual matches.

Final Thoughts

The FIFA World Cup 2026 may still be far, but avid fans, bettors, and sports analysts are already raring to go. However, for now, only the host countries are finalized. While the stadiums are already named, they may still be subject to changes.

Stay tuned for more updates.

Golam Muktadir is a passionate sports fan and a dedicated movie buff. He has been writing about both topics for over a decade and has a wealth of knowledge and experience to share with his readers. Muktadir has a degree in journalism and has written for several well-known publications, including Surprise Sports.